ABOUT THE JUNIOR BOYS

Our aim is to make the Blackburn Football Club Juniors the preferred place for the children of Blackburn and adjoining suburbs to develop their football skills and play football in an environment that encourages the involvement of their families. Blackburn Football Club has a history of almost 100 years involvement in senior football but its participation in junior football has been more recent. This has been due to the changing demographics of the area and the shortage of volunteers, which adversely affects so many community organisations.

The resurgence of junior football at Blackburn Football Club came in the 1990’s with the parents of the children attending St Thomas the Apostle Primary School. In 1990, a group of dedicated parents lead by Gary Bartling and including Paul Dillon, Tony Dickinson, Steve Jarvis, Trevor Foster, Pat Crowe and John Cousland, wanted to provide an opportunity for their children to continue playing football in the local area. The children had initially started their footballing careers during their time at St Thomas’ and wished to continue playing after they left grade 6. The Parents approached Blackburn Football Club and were provided with jumpers and facilities in order to be able to field an under 13 team in the Knox Junior Football League. This one team progressed through the age groups in the League. An under 14 team was initiated in the eastern Football League in 1993 and an under16 team the following year. Under 12 and 10 teams followed in 1996. In 1999 it was realised that an under 9 team was required to ensure that children could start their careers at Blackburn Football Club in the same way as occurs in other strong EFL clubs. An under 11 team was commenced in 2000 and an under 13 team in 2002 as a result of the influx of younger age players.

The club now has approximately 500 children playing football in under 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15,17 and 18 teams on Sundays. The club also overseas and supports 3 Auskick Programs for approx 300 children on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

Blackburn Juniors again won “The Gordon Parker Award” for the Best Conducted Junior Club in the EFL in 2005. This follows on from the 1999 Award. In 2012 The Blackburn Juniors was awarded the Sports club of the year award for the City of Whitehorse.

The future of the Juniors looks positive provided our volunteers continue to show the passion and stamina of those before them.

2017 JUNIOR BOYS COACHES

UNDER 17

Paul Harte   0488 104 922   paul@maximofficegroup.com.au
Trevor Howard   0431 705 660    trevor@uig.net.au
Dave Western   0428 543 308   awc68@optusnet.com.au

UNDER 15

Darren Wharton   0417 367 426   d.wharton1@optusnet.com.au
Mick Meehan   0408 262 301    meehanfamily72@gmail.com

UNDER 14

Brad Ostermeyer   0438 340 846   bostermeyer1@bigpond.com
Marty Macaulay   0418 360 667    Martin.Macaulay@parade.vic.edu.au

UNDER 13

Scott Hardie   0409 517 811   thehardies@tpg.com.au

UNDER 12

Dave Gluyas   0418 318 798   david@davnikconstructions.com.au
Mick Montgomerie   0408 367 919    mjmontgomerie@optusnet.com.au

UNDER 11

Ryan Pritchard   0411 528 577   ryan@bpg.com.au
Luke Paramanathan   0414 405 704   Lmcp_207@hotmail.com

UNDER 10

Terence Peters   0406 660 429   tpeters5@its.jnj.com
Mick Edmonds   0432 686 016   m_edmonds@hotmail.com

UNDER 9

Paul Harman   0430 181 870   paulh@alloys.com.au
Mick Whelan   0407 081 100   mwhelan7019@gmail.com

UNDER 8

Darren Holland   0400 922 169   darren@boommarketing.com.au
Craig Austin   0416 027 984   bmxshorty@gmail.com

“OUR AIM IS TO MAKE THE BLACKBURN FOOTBALL CLUB JUNIORS THE PREFERRED PLACE FOR THE CHILDREN OF BLACKBURN”

WE’RE A HAPPY TEAM AT BLACKBURN

Our awards

The future of the Juniors looks positive as indicated below over the past few years provided the stamina of the volunteers keeps up with the current demographics which are providing many children with a strong interest in playing football with Blackburn.

2011 U/11’s A GRADE PREMIERS
2012 U/12’s A GRADE PREMIERS
2012 U/13’s A GRADE PREMIERS
2013 U/13’s A GRADE PREMIERS
2014 U/14’s A GRADE PREMIERS
2015 U/15’s A GRADE PREMIERS